Six Sentence Sunday

It’s Sunday again and that means it’s time to drag out the ol’ work in progress and select six sentences to razzle and dazzle you with.  The following six sentences come from a YA paranormal story of a young girl who is an exchange student in France.  I hope you enjoy it. Look next week for a post on Irezumi tattoo art.

The smell of fine cigars hit her when she entered the tiny shop. It was packed with
people supporting their habit. Lizbet got in line and waited her turn behind a
man in a nice suit. He had dandruff all over his shoulders though and she made
sure to stay back from his greasy hair. The French may know how to dress, but
some of them still did not know how to bathe.

“Dunhill, menthol, two packs s’il vous plait,” she asked.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karysafaire
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 09:27:49

    Yuck! I’ve been into cigar shops and they make me want to puke. Great job at describing. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jennifer Lowery~Writer
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 13:25:50

    Really good description because it made me wrinkle my nose! Great six! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Sandy Nachlinger
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 18:02:15

    Good description, especially with all the details. I felt like I was there.

    Reply

  4. Robin Badillo
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 18:39:35

    Cigar smoke reminds me of my dad when I was a little girl. Remind me to stay away from greasy French men. Great description. 🙂

    Reply

  5. jessicamcbrayer
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 18:47:10

    Thank you for all the comments! I like the smell of fresh cigars but not cigar smoke. The French I ran into that didn’t bathe used copious amount of perfume and cologne so at least they smelled good!

    Reply

  6. Lindsay
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 00:02:05

    Great description of a smoke shop

    Reply

  7. 1000th.monkey
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 19:22:22

    I didn’t realize someone could have dandruff and oily hair… if so, grooooooossssss!

    Reply

  8. gayleramage
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 19:58:13

    Great description, could smell the cigar smoke!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

