Six Sentence Sunday

Welcome back to Six Sentence Sunday, where I post six sentences of a current work in progress (WIP) of my writing. This week will be a continuation of my YA (Young Adult) story tentatively called Lizbet’s Story. It’s a paranormal about a foreign exchange student in Nantes, France. Enjoy!

Lizbet made her way down the steps and into the cold, rain soaked night to meet her friends. She could hear the loud rhythmic music coming from the café. It was almost a block away still but the light shone bright and there was a crowd on the sidewalk. Many of the people milling around were college students with drinks and cigarettes in hand, gesticulating wildly while they spoke in rapid French. Lizbet’s appearance turned a few heads. She ignored them, instead going slowly over the wet cobblestones to make sure she wouldn’t slip. She entered the smoke filled café and was assaulted with the most enlivening African music she had ever been exposed to.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie Dees
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 01:36:36

    Oh, I remember my college semester in France. What a great place to set a YA story.

    Reply

  2. jessicamcbrayer
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 03:14:34

    Thank you! I spent a year there so the story has some real life draw too. I loved every minute of it 🙂

    Reply

  3. karysafaire
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 07:29:20

    I want to go to France. And I want to read more!

    Reply

  4. jessicamcbrayer
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 17:38:24

    I want to go back! Maybe when we publish we can plan a trip 😀

    Reply

  5. Sandy Nachlinger
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 18:51:08

    I hope you were able to go to France to do research for this story. I like your detailed description of the setting, and I’m wondering what it is about her appearance that caused heads to turn! Good Six.

    Reply

  6. jessicamcbrayer
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 19:00:58

    I lived in France for a year so I’m drawing from that. Would love to go back and do more research though 🙂 Thank you for the comment!

    Reply

  7. Jennifer Lowery~Writer
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 00:43:55

    Very powerful six! Wonderful writing! Will read more next week.
    Thanks!

    Reply

  8. jessicamcbrayer
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 02:12:57

    thanks Jennifer! Please do come back!

    Reply

  9. Alix
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 07:45:22

    I could feel the beat! Great six, Thank you.

    Reply

  10. jessicamcbrayer
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 16:26:24

    Thank you. It was a mesmerizing experience. Loved the music!

    Reply

  11. 1000th.monkey
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 18:12:12

    You’ve done a great job with the setting!

    Reply

  12. jessicamcbrayer
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 18:32:08

    Thank you! It was a vivid memory for me. A terrific experience that I wasnted to convey 🙂

    Reply

  13. karysafaire
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 16:53:12

    So what happened to 6SS today? Girl, don’t do this to me! Hope everything’s OK?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

I'm just starting out; leave me a comment or a like :)

